• Jury selected for the 2020 “Lombardy is Research” Award: Andrea Ferrari, chairman

Members will decide the winner of one million euro for a discovery relating to the theme of Sustainability 

The new jury for the international award “Lombardy is Research” sponsored by the Lombardy Region was installed on 19 February. This year’s theme is environmental sustainability and is dedicated to scientific discoveries that have a significant impact on the quality of life of citizens. Andrea Ferrari, Professor of Nanotechnology at the University of Cambridge was elected jury chairman.  

The panel of 15 experts is tasked with selecting the winner(s) of a check for one million euro to be presented during Research Day, dedicated to the memory of Dr. Umberto Veronesi, held at the Teatro alla Scala on 13 November.  Candidates will be considered for their original discoveries which have both economic and social impacts. 

There to greet the jury members was the President of the Lombardy Region, Attilio Fontana: “Environmental sustainability is a strategic goal within the actions of the Lombardy Regional government, which strives to place people at the centre of each decision. The aim is to improve the quality of life of the citizens of Lombardy while balancing the demands for productivity growth. To that end, we have decided to dedicate this year’s award ‘Lombardy is Research’ to these themes. Our Region is an engine of development for the entire country; to validate the primary role of Lombardy, our work must be to bridge the dichotomy between economic growth and environmental sustainability by fostering the transition towards new paradigms. In October 2020, the Region will host the first Youth Climate Change Conference in Milan. This will be the first time in Italy in the history of Climate Change Conferences where young people from all over the world will come together for two days and draft a final declaration to be addressed to the deciders of the Glasgow Cop26 summit in November.” 

Candidacies may be presented by the scientists included in the list of “Top Italian Scientists” of each of the areas relating to the Award’s theme, numbering about 3,800. The entire process, from the selection of the jury to the proclamation of the winner, will take place on a transparent platform using Blockchain technology

“We are proud that this is one of the most important scientific awards in the international panorama,” added Vice President of the Lombardy Region, Fabrizio Sala. One of the other objectives of this Award is to promote research centres in Lombardy in collaboration with the greatest scientists in the world. Consequently, he added, at least 70% of the one-million euro Award shall be earmarked for the development of the winning discovery in our region with significant impacts on the economy and employment.Jury Members

Jury Members

Andrea C. Ferrari – Chairman
Professor of Nanotechnology at the University of Cambridge (UK), Director of the Cambridge Graphene Centre and  Chairman of the Executive Board of the “Graphene Flagship” project financed by the European Commission. 

Giorgio Bernardi
Honorary Director of Research at CNRS. He directed the Institut Jacques Monod in Paris and was the President of the Stazione Zoologica in Naples and Head of the Molecular Evolution Laboratory.

Paola Bonfante
Professor Emeritus, former Full Professor of Botany at the University of Turin. She was Director of the Department of Plant Biology and head of the Centro Studi sulla Micologia del Terreno at CNR.

Roberto Bassi
Full Professor of Plant Physiology at the University of Verona. Member of the Accademia dei Lincei and the Accademia Europea.

Marco Gobetti
Full Professor, Faculty of Science and Technology at the University of Bolzano. Member of the Italian National Committee for Biosafety, Biotechnology and Life Sciences. 
Roberto Cingolani
Chief Technology and Innovation Officer of Leonardo after holding the position of Scientific Director of the Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia (IIT) in Genoa from 2005 to 2019.

Liberato Manna
Director of the Nanochemistry Department at IIT. Professor of Quantum Nanoscience at the  Kavli Institute of Nanoscience of TU Delft (Netherlands).

Giuseppe Remuzzi
Director of the IRCCS (Istituto di ricerche farmacologiche Mario Negri). Former President of the International Society of Nephrology (ISN) and member of the Board of Directors of the Istituto Superiore di Sanità.

Carlo La Vecchia
Full Professor of Medical Statistics and Epidemiology at the University of Milan, Temporary Advisor to the WHO,  Commander of Order of Merit of the Italian Republic for scientific merits. 

Maurizio Prato
Full Professor of Organic Chemistry at the University of Trieste and Researcher at the CIC BiomaGUNE in San Sebastián, Spain. 

Silvia Bordiga
Full Professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of Turin and member of INSTM. Winner of a «Synergy Grant» assigned to the ERC and the Francois Gault Lectureship Award.

Pierpaolo Pandolfi
Professor of Medicine and Pathology at Harvard Medical School. Scientific Director of the Cancer Center and Cancer Research Institute of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center.

Giovanni Dosi
Professor of Economics at the Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna. Co-director of the task force «Industrial Policy» and «Intellectual Property Rights» for the «Initiative for Policy Dialogue» at Columbia University.

Dario Farina
Professor of Neurorehabilitation Engineering at Imperial College London. He was Director of the Institute of Neurorehabilitation Systems at Georg-August University in Göttingen.

Giulio Cerullo
Professor of the Department of Physics at the Milan Polytechnic University of Milan. He carries out activities in the field of Laser Physics, Nonlinear Optics and Physics of Matter. 
go to top